Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Ryan tutors in Lakewood, CO

Ryan S.

Private tutor in Lakewood, CO

Education

Metropolitan State University of Denver - BA, Mathematics

Experience

There are people who believe that you must be born with a talent for math. There are others who view it as an outdated subject so they aren't motivated to study math. There is a final group who views math as a skill that is just like learning a sport or instrument. They believe that we all have the ability to learn math. I fall into the latter group. My mission is to change the manner in which Americans think about math. At the Metropolitan State University of Denver, I tutored hundreds of students in a federally funded program. I've also working with just as many secondary school students and totally understand their math anxieties. I understand the common fears that center around math. People are so nervous about finding the correct answer that they fail to understand the positive aspects of solving a math problem. I majored in mathematics at MSU Denver and plan to attend graduate school so that I can eventually earn my PhD in mathematics. I tutoring in all subject areas but especially love to work with students on geometry and topology materials. I enjoy helping students overcome math anxiety and I also like to work with lower-level math students. I strive to motivate my students to use logic to resolve problems and work hard to find solutions. When I am not tutoring, I love to read, exercise, and play with my dogs. One of my favorite writers is Hemingway. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Math, reading, writing, running, mind-body health, playing guitar, dogs, friends, philosophy, different spiritualities, humor, acceptance

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!